Legislative Call to Action! Act Now!

Please contact Oklahoma House Common Education Committee members and Oklahoma Senate Education Committee members and urge them to support House Bill 2790 and SB 967 today!

The House Common Education Committee will meet Monday afternoon, February 22nd to hear HB 2790 for a second time. We are still waiting to hear if the bill will be heard in the Senate Education Committee Monday morning as well.

Speaking Points:

Please support HB 2790 | SB 967 aligning the State definition of “Bullying” with the CDC’s Uniform Definition of “Bullying”

  • The new language clarifies and strengthens a school’s ability to investigate and assess suspected incidents of bullying regarding power imbalances that are observed or perceived.
  • The new language promotes a prevention mindset: when identifying bullying the very first time it happens and assessing the high likelihood of bullying happening again – steps can be taken to prevent future incidents of bullying.
  • The new definition aligns with a wide body of existing research and measurement tools that can be applied here to reduce bullying in Oklahoma.

House Common Education Committee Members:

Rep. Coody (405) 557-7398
anncoody@okhouse.gov

Rep. Rogers (405) 557-7362
michael.rogers@okhouse.gov

Rep. Caldwell (405) 557-7317
chad.caldwell@okhouse.gov

Rep. Cannaday (405) 557-7375
ed.cannaday@okhouse.gov

Rep. Condit (405) 557-7376
donnie.condit@okhouse.gov

Rep. Fisher (405) 557-7311
dan.fisher@okhouse.gov

Rep. Henke (405) 557-7361
katie.henke@okhouse.gov

Rep. Jordan (405) 557-7352
jp.jordan@okhouse.gov

Rep. Kern (405) 557-7348
sallykern@okhouse.gov

Rep. McDaniel (405) 557-7334
jeanniemcdaniel@okhouse.gov

Rep. Nelson (405) 557-7335
jason.nelson@okhouse.gov

Rep. Nollan (405) 557-7390
jadine.nollan@okhouse.gov

Rep. Stone (405) 557-7397
shane.stone@okhouse.gov

Rep. Strohm (405) 557-7331
chuck.strohm@okhouse.gov

Rep. Thomsen (405) 557-7336
todd.thomsen@okhouse.gov

Senate Education Committee Members:

Senator Ford (405) 521-5634
fordj@oksenate.gov

Senator Sharp (Bill Author) (405) 521-5539
sharp@oksenate.gov

Senator Brecheen (405) 521-5586
brecheen@oksenate.gov

Senator Dossett (405) 521-5566
dossett@oksenate.gov

Senator Garrison (405) 521-5533
whitep@oksenate.gov

Senator Halligan (405) 521-5572
halligan@oksenate.gov

Senator Jolley (405) 521-5622
jolley@oksenate.gov

Senator Paddack (405) 521-5541
paddack@oksenate.gov

Senator Quinn (405) 521-5555
quinn@oksenate.gov

Senator Shaw (405) 521-5574
shaw@oksenate.gov

Senator Smalley (405) 521-5547
smalley@oksenate.gov

Senator Stanislawski (405) 521-5624

stanislawski@oksenate.gov

Senator Thompson (405) 521-5588
thompson@oksenate.gov

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply